Adams County Commissioners Unanimously Adopt $468 Million Budget for 2018

The Board of Commissioners unanimously adopted the 2018 Adams County budget at public hearing on Tuesday, Dec. 12.

Top priorities in the 2018 budget – set at $468,379,584, a 3.8% increase from 2017 – focus on education and economic prosperity, creating a high-performing and fiscally sustainable government, improving quality of life, providing safe and reliable infrastructure, and community enrichment for the fifth-largest county by population in Colorado.

“This budget aligns with the strategic goals of the county commissioners to push Adams County forward on the right path,” said Eva J. Henry, Board of Commissioners Chair. “In 2018, we look forward to continue making Adams County a great place to live and do business by providing top-notch economic, recreational, and educational opportunities while also prioritizing public safety and superior infrastructure.”

Some specific priorities in the 2018 budget include:

  • Funding the Adams County Scholarship Fund
  • Implementation of the 2018 elections
  • Additional employees for the Sheriff’s Office, District Attorney’s Office, and Coroner’s Office
  • ADA Transition implementation and sidewalk improvement plans
  • Open space land acquisitions
  • Infrastructure improvements on 58th Ave. from Washington St. to York St.
  • Increased allocation for Human Services

The county’s Budget team, headed by Budget Manager Nancy Duncan and supported by analysts Pernell Olson, Raylene Taylor, and Mark Kluth, has worked with County Manager Raymond Gonzales and his staff since April planning and preparing the proposed 2018 budget. In the process, the group sought input from all elected officials and department directors.

The mission of the Budget Office is to develop a financial plan that ensures the health, safety, and welfare of county residents. Adams County is committed to adopting a budget that facilitates the orderly and efficient delivery of county government services, as directed by the Local Government Budget Law of Colorado, other governmental mandates, policy directives developed by the Board of County Commissioners, and citizen feedback.

With rich traditions and history, Adams County offers the best of suburban and rural life – vibrant cities, quiet towns, and miles of recreation. Located in the Denver metro area, Adams is the state’s 5th largest county serving a population of nearly 500,000 residents. Adams County is home to the cities of Brighton, Commerce City, Federal Heights, Northglenn and Thornton; portions of Arvada, Aurora and Westminster; and the town of Bennett. Unincorporated communities include Henderson, Strasburg and Watkins. For more information on Adams County, visit

Warning: A non-numeric value encountered in /home/customer/www/ on line 499